Follow by Email

Monday, March 28, 2011

The Eclectic Artist Cave Presents: David B. Coe

David B. Coe will be joining me LIVE on on Saturday at 10 AM CST. He is one of the few writers who has shaped my writing over the years. The plot within plot stories he tells are always full of imagination, twitsts and love. His passion for writing shows in each book he publishes. It really is a great pleasure for me to have him on my show!

David B. Coe is the award-winning author of twelve novels and the occasional short story. His first trilogy, the LonTobyn Chronicle, received the Crawford Fantasy Award as the best work by a new author in fantasy. His latest fantasy novel, The Dark-Eyes is the final volume of his Blood of the Southlands trilogy, which began with The Sorcerers and The Horsemen. The series is a follow-up to his critically acclaimed Winds of the Forelands quintet. He has also written the novelization of director Ridley ScottRobin Hood, starring Russell Crowe. David

David received his undergraduate degree from Brown University and then attended Stanford University.

David is currently working on a new historical fantasy series, Chronicles of the Thieftaker, which will be published under the pen name D.B. Jackson. ( The first book in the series, Thieftaker, will be published by Tor Books early in 2012.

David is also part of the Magical Words group blog (, a site devoted to discussions of the craft and business of writing fantasy, and is co-author of How To Write Magical Words: A Writer. His web site can be found at:

How to Write Magical Words: A Writer's Companion is written by David B. Coe, A. J. Hartley, Faith Hunter, Stuart Jaffe, Misty Massey, C. E. Murphy.

This collaboration contains years of experience from some of the top writers in the business. Together they formed a blog called Magical Words, which inspired this book. It offers detailed advice about how to sell your book along with writing tips and it provides a different way of thinking when it comes to working out issues you may be having with your writing. The learning experience offered is more like a conversation with a group of writers as opposed to a simple monologue. The one good thing about this book is the writers are not afraid to share their failures as well as their successes. The companion really is about the whole experience of writing as opposed to a boring instruction manual. You can tell the people who contributed to this really do have a passion for writing and for helping others make it to where they are.
Thieftakers is the first volume in The Chronicles of the Thieftaker
It is written under his pen name D. B. Jackson. We will be discussing the reason he decided to take on another personna when his current name is so well known and what this new series is about. For now, below is a short synopsis about a book I can't wait to get my hands on.


Murder, political intrigue, and a stolen gem are just the beginning of what Ethan Kaille encounters in the mystery he is placed in the middle of.

A mob is rioting through the smoke filled streets of Boston in the year 1765, where royal officials are being burned in effigy because of a new tax. Amidst the burning houses and chaos there is a single deserted lane. Laying on the street, a young girl, her body unmarked, is murdered.

Ethan Kaille, a thieftaker of some notoriety and skill in conjuring is hired by her father to find out who killed his beautiful daughter. Upon his encounter with Sephira, a rival thief taker, Ethan discovers the only way to find the killer is to find a stolen gem. Now with those he loves caught in the cross fire, Ethan must wage a conjuring war he feels he is unprepared for.

In a world where politics and magic collide, there is no greater force in life accept the love he has for his family and friends. Who killed the girl? Why is the gem so important? Could there be more to the story than just the death of a young girl in the middle of a rioting mob?

Thieftakers is the first volume in the Chronicles of the Thieftaker, a new historical fantasy written by D.B. Jackson, AKA David B. Coe. In this series he combines historical fiction, urban fantasy and traditional fantasy. It’s an original take on the modern day mystery with a twist of magic. It is slated to be released in spring of 2012.


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger